The Board of Commissioners consists of five individuals who are elected to represent the best interests of the community. The charge of the Board is to set policies that guide the Bedford Park District. Board members serve a six-year term and receive no compensation for the time they give. They come from a variety of backgrounds but share one common goal; serving the park and recreation needs of the community.

Board Members

Jack Edwards

President | (2003-2021)

Jack recently retired from the Village of Bedford Park where he served as the Superintendent of Public Works. He is committed to continuing the long tradition of quality parks and programs for all ages.

Mike Sawka

Vice President | (2007-2023)

Mike serves as the Vice President of the Board. He is a graduate of Argo High School and Lewis University. As a Commissioner, he is a strong proponent of quality programs and facilities while promoting a fiscally sound budget.

Emily Croucher

Treasurer | (2009-2023)

Prior to being elected to the Board of Commissioners, Emily worked for the Bedford Park District for 30 years. She is the mother of four children who were active in park programs and grandmother to six.

Nathan Holdman

Commissioner | (2017-2021)

Nathan is a lifelong resident of Bedford Park and actively participated in park programs during his youth. He is a firefighter/paramedic for the Village of Oak Park. His goal is to help the Bedford Park District achieve its highest potential as the newest Commissioner.

Board Meetings

In accordance with the Illinois Open Meetings Act, public notice is hereby given that unless otherwise noted, the Regular Meeting of the Board of Commissioners are held monthly in the Executive Board Room located in the Bedford Park Community Building – 6652 South 78th Avenue, Bedford Park, IL 60501.

Members of the community are encouraged to attend.

Any member of the public interested in addressing the Board must contact the Board Secretary no later than noon on the Friday prior to the board meeting with the topic they wish to discuss in order to be included in the agenda. If time permits, discussion from the public will be allowed, with a three minute per person allotted time period. Unused time cannot be rendered to other guests. Please be advised that the Bedford Park District abides by the Open Meetings Act and some matters including personnel, pending litigation, and sale or acquisition of property are discussed in Executive Session with the Board Members and Executive Director only. Public requests to join Executive Session will not be granted.

Anonymous correspondence, including letters written by groups without an individual name attached and/or a legitimate return address will not be included on the agenda.

2021 Board Meeting Dates:

Public Invited
The Board of Commissioners meet for the regular board meeting on the following days at 6:30PM in the Executive Board Room.

  • January 13
  • February 24
  • March 24
  • April 21
  • May 19
  • June 23
  • July 21
  • August 18
  • September 22
  • October 20
  • November 17
  • December 15